Home Our Diocese Catholic schools set to make their mark in field hockey

Catholic schools set to make their mark in field hockey

300
0

Padua is coming off one of its best seasons, which ended with an overtime loss to eventual champion Cape Henlopen, and the Pandas want even more. They return a solid foundation from that 13-2 squad that could deliver.

Senior Abigail Boudart, who scored six goals and added an assist, returns, as do classmate abiutail McGowan and sophomore Ashlee Brentlinger, among others. Danielle Clerval, now a junior, is the goalkeeper. She had 70 saves last year.

Padua, which plays its home games at Forbes Field, begins its stiff schedule on Friday at Middletown. All games begin at 3:45 p.m. except where noted.

Schedule

Friday, Sept. 11: at Middletown

Monday, Sept. 21: Tatnall

Wednesday, Sept. 23: Delaware Military

Saturday, Sept. 26: vs. Ursuline, 1 p.m., at Rullo Stadium (Turf Bowl)

Tuesday, Sept. 29: St. Elizabeth

Friday, Oct. 2: at Charter

Tuesday, Oct. 6: St. Mark’s

Thursday, Oct. 8: at Caravel, 7:15 p.m.

Wednesday, Oct. 14: Newark Charter

Tuesday, Oct. 20: at Sanford, 4 p.m.

Thursday, Oct. 22: at St. Mark’s

Friday, Oct. 23: at Concord

Tuesday, Oct. 27: St. Thomas More

Thursday, Oct. 29: at St. Elizabeth

Tuesday, Nov. 3: at Ursuline

 

St. Mark’s went 7-7-1 last season against a tough schedule, including some wins against ranked opponents. The Spartans graduated 13 seniors, but they do return juniors Anna Yacucci (three goals) and Megan Burlew (two goals). On defense, Kendra Schweizer returns; she also scored once last year. The goalkeeper is senior Gillian Bruce, who had 159 saves in 2014, including 32 against Tower Hill. She also posted four shutouts among the seven wins.

This season, St. Mark’s has six games against playoff teams from last year. All games begin at 3:45 p.m. except where noted.

Schedule

Saturday, Sept. 12: at Caesar Rodney, 11 a.m.

Friday, Sept. 18: Wilmington Friends

Tuesday, Sept. 22: Tower Hill

Thursday, Sept. 24: Caravel

Sunday, Sept. 27: vs. Charter, 2 p.m., at Rullo Stadium (Turf Bowl)

Wednesday, Sept. 30: Ursuline

Friday, Oct. 2: Tatnall

Tuesday, Oct. 6: at Padua

Tuesday, Oct. 13: at Conrad

Friday, Oct. 16: at St. Elizabeth

Friday, Oct. 23: Padua

Monday, Oct. 26: St. Elizabeth

Tuesday, Oct. 27: at Archmere

Thursday, Oct. 29: at Ursuline

Wednesday, Nov. 4: Wilmington Christian

 

Fourteen players from last season’s 5-8-2 squad return for St. Elizabeth, including junior Gabriella Saggese (three goals, one assist), junior Juliana Owens (two goals, three assists) and sophomore Claudia Rancone, who also had two goals and three assists. Defensively, look for Alanna Speaks, who is also an offensive threat (six goals, two assists), and Jill Aranilla, the sophomore goalkeeper who denied 96 shots last year.

The Vikings will spend a lot of time on the road this season, but their first two games are at home. All games begin at 3:45 p.m. except where noted.

Schedule

Tuesday, Sept. 15: Archmere

Thursday, Sept. 17: St. Georges

Monday, Sept. 21: at Conrad

Sunday, Sept. 27: vs. Brandywine, 8 p.m., at Rullo Stadium (Turf Bowl)

Tuesday, Sept. 29: at Padua

Thursday, Oct. 1: at Newark.

Thursday, Oct. 8: at William Penn

Tuesday, Oct. 13: at Dickinson

Thursday, Oct. 15: Ursuline

Friday, Oct. 16: St. Mark’s

Monday, Oct. 19: at Delcastle

Wednesday, Oct. 21: at Hodgson, 4 p.m.

Friday, Oct. 23: at Ursuline

Monday, Oct. 26: at St Mark’s.

Thursday, Oct. 29: Padua (Senior Day)

 

Archmere finished last season 2-10-3 with a young team that included five freshmen and five sophomores. They managed ties against two state tournament teams. There will be a new goalkeeper, but much of the Auks’ offense returns, led by senior Presley Conaty (five goals, two assists) and juniors Leah DaCosta (six goals, one assist) and Lorin Donovan (five goals, one assist).

Six of the Auks’ foes this year made the state tournament last season. All games begin at 3:45 p.m. except where noted.

Schedule

Friday, Sept. 11: Concord

Tuesday, Sept. 15: at St. Elizabeth

Thursday, Sept. 17: Delaware Military

Tuesday, Sept. 22: at Newark Charter

Thursday, Sept. 24: at Wilmington Friends

Wednesday, Sept. 30: Tatnall

Tuesday, Oct. 6: Red Lion

Friday, Oct. 9: Mount Pleasant

Tuesday, Oct. 13: Sanford

Friday, Oct. 16: Conrad

Tuesday, Oct. 20: at Wilmington Christian

Saturday, Oct. 24: Caravel, noon (Homecoming)

Tuesday, Oct. 27: St. Mark’s

Friday, Oct. 30: at Charter

Tuesday, Nov. 3: at Tower Hill, 3 p.m.

 

At Ursuline, senior Madelyn Jablonski leads the returning Raiders, who were 9-5-1 in 2014. Jablonski scored 11 goals last year. She is joined up front by seniors Katie Hosey (four goals, four assists), Anna Clare Desch (three goals, four assists) and Nina Budischak (four goals, two assists). Katherine Casey is the keeper; she posted 100 saves last season. A veteran defense that includes Caroline Steele, Delaney Vorwick, Bailey Garrison and Alyssa Irons will be in front of her.

Five tournament teams await the Raiders, who begin the journey toward the postseason on Friday against St. Georges. All games begin at 3:45 p.m. except where noted.

Schedule

Friday, Sept. 11: St. Georges

Tuesday, Sept. 15: St. Andrews

Monday, Sept. 21: at Appoquinimink

Wednesday, Sept. 23: at Middletown, 6:15 p.m.

Saturday, Sept. 26: vs. Padua, 1 p.m., at Rullo Stadium (Turf Bowl)

Monday, Sept. 28: Caravel

Wednesday, Sept. 30: at St. Mark’s

Tuesday, Oct. 6: at Wilmington Friends

Thursday, Oct. 8: at Tatnall

Thursday, Oct. 15: at St. Elizabeth

Saturday, Oct. 17: Newark Charter, 11 a.m. (Homecoming)

Friday, Oct. 23: St. Elizabeth

Wednesday, Oct. 28: Wilmington Charter

Thursday, Oct. 29: St. Mark’s

Tuesday, Nov. 3: Padua

 

St. Thomas More will try to parlay last season’s 8-5-2 record into a state tournament appearance this season. The Ravens graduated seven seniors from that squad and feature just four seniors this season, including goalkeeper Sarah Hayes and high-scoring Joanna Petrosky. Other offensive threats for the Ravens include juniors Therese Sadusky and Alexis Swinford.

Now an independent, St. Thomas More plays primarily downstate teams, but the Ravens open Friday at Ss. Peter and Paul in Easton, Md., and finish the season Oct. 27 vs. Padua at Forbes Field in Wilmington. All games begin at 4 p.m. except where noted.

Schedule

Friday, Sept. 11: at Ss. Peter and Paul (Md.)

Monday, Sept. 14: Red Lion

Wednesday, Sept. 16: at Gunston Day (Md.)

Saturday, Sept. 19: Indian River, 11 a.m.

Thursday, Sept. 24: Woodbridge

Saturday, Sept. 26: vs. Sussex Central, 4 p.m., at Rullo Stadium (Turf Bowl)

Monday, Sept. 28: at Newark Charter

Friday, Oct. 2: at Milford

Monday, Oct. 5: Delaware Military, 3:45 p.m.

Wednesday, Oct. 7:at Delmarva Christian

Tuesday, Oct. 13: at Red Lion

Saturday, Oct. 17: Delmarva Christian, 11 a.m.

Tuesday, Oct. 20: at St. Andrews, 3:45 p.m.

Tuesday, Oct. 27: at Padua, 3:45 p.m.