Home Our Diocese St. Mark’s, Archmere seniors named co-winners of football’s DeLucia Award

St. Mark’s, Archmere seniors named co-winners of football’s DeLucia Award


Dialog reporter


WILMINGTON – John Dougherty of St. Mark’s High School and Matt Gallagher of Archmere Academy have been named the recipients of the 2014 Michael DeLucia Sportsmanship Award, presented annually to a senior football player from a Delaware Catholic high school. The award, which has been given for 43 years, goes to a player “who has exemplified outstanding performance, attitude and character on and off the field.”

Tom DeLucia presents the award named after his late son to John Dougherty (left) of St. Mark's and Matt Gallagher of Archmere. (Bud Keegan Images)
Tom DeLucia presents the award named after his late son to John Dougherty (left) of St. Mark’s and Matt Gallagher of Archmere. (Bud Keegan Images)

Both Dougherty and Gallagher were two-way players for their teams. Dougherty, who stands 6-1 and weighs 286 lbs., started on the offensive and defensive lines for the Spartans, who finished the season with an 8-4 record and a trip to the state semifinals.

Dougherty anchored both the offensive and defensive lines, according to his coach, John Wilson. Behind the offensive line, the Spartans rushed for more than 2,000 yards, passed for more than 2,000 yards and averaged 28 points per game.

Gallagher, 5-11 and 200 lbs., played guard and fullback on offense for the Auks and middle linebacker on defense. He finished the season with 108 tackles and 6.5 sacks in 11 games as Archmere finished at 7-4 and made the Division II playoffs. In three years on the varsity, Gallagher recorded 291 tackles.

The pair was named to the all-state second team by the Delaware Interscholastic Football Coaches Association.

The award was presented by Tom DeLucia. He and his wife, Pat, of Wilmington, established the award in honor of their son, Michael, who died from meningitis in 1971 at age 18 months.


Previous winners

2013 Troy Reeder, Salesianum

2012 Andre Patton, St. Elizabeth

2011 Eric Patton, St. Elizabeth

2010 Ryan Kilpatrick, Salesianum

2009 AJ Dillione, Salesianum; Chaz Malewski, St. Mark’s

2008 Andrew Schieffer, Salesianum; Corey Olsen, St. Mark’s

2007 Frank Kurek, Archmere; Sonny Durham, St. Elizabeth

2006 Andrew Szczerba, Salesianum

2005 Nicholas Dominelli, Salesianum

2004 Gene DelleDonne, Salesianum; Dan Meany, Archmere

2003 Joey Wright, St. Mark’s

2002 Ryan Stearrett, St. Elizabeth

2001 Thomas J. Weiss, Archmere

2000 Jack Gillespie, Salesianum; Jeff Fletcher, St. Elizabeth

1999 Louis Wright, St. Mark’s; Matt Swarter, St. Elizabeth

1998 Edsel Torres, Archmere

1997 Kevin Coen, Salesianum

1996 Mike Watkins, St. Mark’s

1995 Jason Maxwell, Salesianum

1994 Rich Conway, St. Elizabeth

1993 Dan McGee, Salesianum; Sean Davenport, St. Elizabeth

1992 Tom Coyne, Archmere; Josh Kasper, St. Mark’s

1991 Ryan Burke, Archmere; Chad Fedorkowicz, St. Elizabeth

1990 Steve Brady, Salesianum

1989 Chris Iudica, St. Mark’s; Shawn Mitchell, St. Elizabeth

1988 Chris Johnson, Salesianum

1987 Mike Lesutis, Archmere

1986 Dave Erfle, Salesianum; Rich Sernyak, Salesianum

1985 Harry Grant Schiavi, Salesianum; Mark Kostic, Salesianum; Mike Benefield, St. Mark’s

1984 Michael Drake, Salesianum; Pat Udovich, St. Mark’s

1983 Roy David Thompson, St. Mark’s; Ken Falkenstein, Archmere

1982 Mike Udovich, Archmere

1981 Joe Garecht, Salesianum

1980 Jeff Thommes, Salesianum; Joe Pileggi, Archmere

1979 Frank Cephous, St. Mark’s, John Ryan, Salesianum

1978 Joe Papili, St. Elizabeth; Mark DiNardo, Archmere

1977 Steve McGrath, Salesianum; Mike LaGasse, Archmere

1976 Bob Hanisch, Salesianum

1975 Chuck Hunter, St. Mark’s

1974 Rom Gac, St. Mark’s

1973 John Carney, St. Mark’s

1972 Mark McLane, Salesianum