Home Local Sports Archmere’s Moyer ‘honored and humbled’ to receive DeLucia Award

Archmere’s Moyer ‘honored and humbled’ to receive DeLucia Award

Mitch Moyer (right) receives the Michael DeLucia Award from Kevin DeLucia. (The Dialog/Mike Lang)

CLAYMONT — Mitch Moyer was a three-way threat for the Archmere football team in 2018, giving the Auks’ opponents something to worry about on offense, defense and special teams. He was a linchpin for a team that went 9-1 in the regular season and made the Division II state tournament.

Moyer, a guard and defensive tackle, earned first-team all-state honors on both sides, and on Dec. 16 he was honored as the 2018 recipient of the Michael DeLucia Memorial Sportsmanship Award. The award is presented annually to the senior football player from a Catholic high school “who has exemplified outstanding performance, attitude and character on and off the field.”

Mitch Moyer addresses his teammates following Archmere’s win at St. Mark’s. (The Dialog/Mike Lang)

The award was presented by Kevin DeLucia at the Archmere team breakfast at the Waterfall Banquet and Conference Center. His parents, Tom and Pat DeLucia, established the award in 1972 in honor of their son, Michael, who died from meningitis in 1971 at the age of 18 months. They could not attend the breakfast.

In remarks to the crowd, Moyer spread the credit for the award. His teammates, he said, have supported each other through some tough times. He also singled out his family.

“They’re my biggest fans and someone I wouldn’t be standing here without,” he said. “I can’t thank them enough.”

The Auks made the state tournament for the first time since 2014, bowing out in the first round to Delmar. Among Moyer’s accomplishments were six solo tackles, two and a half sacks and a 10-yard touchdown run at Tatnall; two touchdown runs at St. Mark’s, including the game-winner in overtime; and eight tackles, a fumble recovery, sack and blocked punt against St. Elizabeth.

Getting to the playoffs was a goal the team had been working toward for a few seasons, he said.

“It was unbelievable,” he said. “It meant the world to me and the guys out here. These guys worked so hard day in and day out. I attribute so much of my success to them. We came in, we worked and tried to get better every day.”

Moyer will be playing football next year at Columbia University in New York. In fact, he was on his official visit to Columbia when he found out he had won the award.

“Honestly, I thought they had the wrong guy at first. It’s a great honor to receive this,” Moyer said.

This was the third straight season an Archmere player had received the DeLucia, which has gone to 69 players in its 47 years. Last year, Joseph DiGregorio was a co-winner, and two seasons ago, Pat Udovich was one of two recipients. Udovich’s father, Patrick Sr., was honored in 1984; he was in the audience at the Waterfall.

Moyer said he was “honored and humbled to receive this award and be included with a group of men with such great character.”

Moyer plans to study finance, so Columbia was a perfect fit.

“Obviously, the education is second to none. It’s in the middle of the city, which I love. I feel like I can thrive,” he said.

Before that happens, however, Moyer is spending the winter doing strength and conditioning work. He also has a season remaining of lacrosse. Last season, as a junior and to no one’s surprise, Moyer was a first-team all-state selection.

Previous winners

2017 William Hoffman, St. Mark’s; Joseph DiGregorio, Archmere

2016 Patrick Udovich, Archmere; David Hazelton Jr., St. Elizabeth

2015 Colby Reeder, Salesianum

2014 John Dougherty, St. Mark’s; Matt Gallagher, Archmere

2013 Troy Reeder, Salesianum

2012 Andre Patton, St. Elizabeth

2011 Eric Patton, St. Elizabeth

2010 Ryan Kilpatrick, Salesianum

2009 AJ Dillione, Salesianum; Chaz Malewski, St. Mark’s

2008 Andrew Schieffer, Salesianum; Corey Olsen, St. Mark’s

2007 Frank Kurek, Archmere; Sonny Durham, St. Elizabeth

2006 Andrew Szczerba, Salesianum

2005 Nicholas Dominelli, Salesianum

2004 Gene DelleDonne, Salesianum; Dan Meany, Archmere

2003 Joey Wright, St. Mark’s

2002 Ryan Stearrett, St. Elizabeth

2001 Thomas J. Weiss, Archmere

2000 Jack Gillespie, Salesianum; Jeff Fletcher, St. Elizabeth

1999 Louis Wright, St. Mark’s; Matt Swarter, St. Elizabeth

1998 Edsel Torres, Archmere

1997 Kevin Coen, Salesianum

1996 Mike Watkins, St. Mark’s

1995 Jason Maxwell, Salesianum

1994 Rich Conway, St. Elizabeth

1993 Dan McGee, Salesianum; Sean Davenport, St. Elizabeth

1992 Tom Coyne, Archmere; Josh Kasper, St. Mark’s

1991 Ryan Burke, Archmere; Chad Fedorkowicz, St. Elizabeth

1990 Steve Brady, Salesianum

1989 Chris Iudica, St. Mark’s; Shawn Mitchell, St. Elizabeth

1988 Chris Johnson, Salesianum

1987 Mike Lesutis, Archmere

1986 Dave Erfle, Salesianum; Rich Sernyak, Salesianum

1985 Harry Schiavi, Salesianum; Mark Kostic, Salesianum; Mike Benefield, St. Mark’s

1984 Michael Drake, Salesianum; Pat Udovich, Archmere

1983 Roy David Thompson, St. Mark’s; Ken Falkenstein, Archmere

1982 Mike Udovich, Archmere

1981 Joe Garecht, Salesianum

1980 Jeff Thommes, Salesianum; Joe Pileggi, Archmere

1979 Frank Cephous, St. Mark’s, John Ryan, Salesianum

1978 Joe Papili, St. Elizabeth; Mark DiNardo, Archmere

1977 Steve McGrath, Salesianum; Mike LaGasse, Archmere

1976 Bob Hanisch, Salesianum

1975 Chuck Hunter, St. Mark’s

1974 Rom Gac, St. Mark’s

1973 John Carney, St. Mark’s

1972 Mark McLane, Salesianum