Home Local Sports Money, Vaughan lead Catholic school selections on boys all-state basketball

Money, Vaughan lead Catholic school selections on boys all-state basketball

Justin Money

Justin Money, a senior at St. Elizabeth, was named to the all-state second team on March 15, and Salesianum senior Darnell Vaughan was named to the third team. The voters included the state’s head coaches and media members who regularly covered the sport.

Money was one of the Vikings’ senior leaders as the team had an 11-9 regular-season record and a seventh seed in the state tournament, where they fell to St. Mark’s. Money was consistently in double figures in scoring, including 24 against Concord and A.I. DuPont, and 22 in the regular season against St. Mark’s. He also drew the toughest defensive assignments in several games.

Darnell Vaughan

Vaughan was the Sals’ leader on the court, helping the team reach the state tournament with an 11-9 record. The Sals defeated Sussex Tech in the second round before losing to eventual state champion Sanford in the quarterfinals. He scored 18 points in three games, but his impact was felt in more than the scoring column.

The player of the year was Na’Shon Hyland, a senior at St. Georges Tech. The first team includes six players for just the sixth time since it was established. The other members of the team are Jyare Davis, junior, Sanford; Elijah Allen, junior, Dover; Fah’Mir Ali, senior, Mount Pleasant; Nnanna Njoku, sophomore, Sanford; and Eden Davis, junior, Dover.

Joining Money on the four-person second team are Shaft Clark, senior, Caesar Rodney; Mark Bradshaw, senior, Glasgow; and Brandon Sengphachanh, senior, Caravel.

Vaughan is joined on the third team by Jyheim Spencer, junior, Dover; Corey Perkins, junior, Sanford; Kaheim Kimbrough-Roach, sophomore, Lake Forest; and Michael McCants, senior, St. Georges.

The following Catholic school players earned honorable mention:

Jack Brown

Jack Brown, senior, Salesianum

Eric Ludman, senior, St. Mark’s

The other honorable mention selections are:

Jamir Dantley, senior, A.I. DuPont

Jah-Keish Demby, sophomore, Christiana

Ese Efekodo, junior, Appoquinimink

Eric Ludman

Kareem Ewell, sophomore, Dickinson

Jamier Felton, senior, Indian River

Perren Gyan, senior, Newark Charter

Joseph Hodges, sophomore, Newark

Skylar Johnson, junior, Sussex Tech

Jamon Kane, senior, Woodbridge

Kevin Keister, junior, Caravel

Hassan Perkins, junior, Sanford

Nahshon Sylvester, junior, Smyrna

Jaysem Vazquez, junior, Lake Forest