Home Local Sports Ursuline senior Connolly is girls basketball player of year as all-state teams...

Ursuline senior Connolly is girls basketball player of year as all-state teams named

Maggie Connolly and the Raiders wiped out a nine-point deficit over the game's final nine minutes.

Dialog reporter
Maggie Connolly, Ursuline’s senior guard who just completed her fifth season of varsity basketball, has been named the girls’ player of the year. Connolly led the Raiders to a berth in the state semifinals, where they fell to eventual state champion Conrad.

Maggie Connolly was named the girls’ player of the year. (Dialog file photo)

Connolly was asked to take on an even bigger role for Ursuline than she had in previous years. In addition to scoring, she was the team’s point guard. For most of the season, she was the Raiders’ only returning starter from the previous season until teammates Olivia Mason and Kay Wulah returned from knee injuries. Connolly will play at Princeton next year.
Ursuline finished the regular season 9-10 and was seeded seventh in the state tournament. The Raiders knocked off Padua and stunned No. 2 Sanford in the quarterfinals before the narrow loss to Conrad.
Ber’Nyah Mayo earned first-team honors. Dialog file photo)

Ber’Nyah Mayo, St. Elizabeth’s high-scoring sophomore, also earned first-team honors. She led the Vikings to a 17-4 record and a spot in the state quarterfinals, where the team lost to Conrad. During the regular season, Mayo scored 30 points against Conrad, including the game-winning basket with a few seconds left on the clock.
The other first-team members are Lauren Park, junior, Sanford; Julie Kulesza, sophomore, Conrad; and Zhan’e Snow, senior, Concord.
Second team
Stefanie Kulesza, freshman, Conrad; Sasha Marvel, junior, Caravel; Ronnasia Blatch-Huggins, junior, Howard; Kayla Braxton-Young, junior, Hodgson; Kylie Kornegay-Lucas, junior, Caesar Rodney
Third team
Olivia Tucker, junior, Sanford; Allie Kubek, sophomore, Sanford; Sha’Nia Davis, sophomore, Appoquinimink; Kendra Warren, junior, Caravel; Kaylee Otlowski, senior, Caravel
Honorable mention
Kayla Rouse, senior, Howard; Logan Handy, junior, Laurel; Ja-Naiah Perkins-Jackson, junior, Hodgson; Janiya Stevens, junior, Sussex Tech; DahNaija Barnes, senior, St. Thomas More; Aniah Patterson, junior, St. Thomas More; Emily Ansah, senior, Newark Charter; Alexis Lee, senior, St. Elizabeth; Shelby Bailey-Smiley, senior, Tatnall; Samantha Pollich, junior, Sanford; Ja’Nylah Whittlesey, freshman, Conrad; Sydney Pederson, senior, Cape Henlopen; Natalie DePaulo, senior, Wilmington Friends; Jayla Smith, junior, Smyrna; and Alyssa Faville, sophomore, Conrad.
All of the state’s coaches, along with members of the media who regularly cover high school basketball, are eligible to vote for all-state teams.