Home Local Sports Several Catholic school players among boys all-state selections

Several Catholic school players among boys all-state selections


Dialog reporter
Nate Thomas, the senior forward who helped lead St. Elizabeth to its first boys basketball championship, earned third-team all-state honors. He was the lone player from a Catholic high school to make any of the first three teams.

Nate Thomas (11) is a third-team all-state selection. (Dialog file photo)

Thomas played solid basketball all season, with his productivity and effectiveness increasing as the season progressed. He helped the ninth-seeded Vikings to five consecutive postseason wins. His three-pointer in the closing seconds lifted St. Elizabeth past St. Georges in the second round of the tournament. He was in double figures in scoring in all postseason games except St. Georges, and he was the Vikings’ leading rebounder.
Here are the remainder of the all-state teams.
First team
Caleb Matthews, senior, Smyrna, player of the year; Nah’Shon Hyland, junior, St. Georges; Ian Robertson, senior, Cape Henlopen; O’Koye Parker, senior, Caravel; Jyare Davis, sophomore, Sanford
Second team
Jaymeir Garnett, junior, Smyrna; Greg Bloodsworth, senior, Smyrna; Jordan Harding, senior, William Penn; Randy Rickards, senior, Cape Henlopen; Hassan Corbin, senior, Woodbridge
Third team
Jaquan Burton, senior, Sussex Tech; Shaft Clark, junior, Caesar Rodney; Lamar Woody, senior, Howard; Fah’Mir Ali, junior, Mount Pleasant; Nate Thomas, senior, St. Elizabeth
Honorable mention
Justin Thomas, senior, Newark Charter; Paul Brown, senior, Salesianum; Nick Leski, senior, St. Mark’s; Thomas Hoskins, senior, Lake Forest; Eden Davis, sophomore, Dover; D.J. Earl, sophomore, Caravel; Nnanna Njoku, freshman, Sanford; Davione Robinson, senior, Caesar Rodney; Jack Brown, junior, Salesianum; Gerrad Wall, senior, William Penn; Jordan Brown, junior, St. Elizabeth; Hassan Perkins, sophomore, Sanford; Mark Bradshaw, senior, Glasgow; Jamiere Felton, junior, Indian River; Khalil Bolden, senior, Sussex Tech.